Zone 7 and Zone 3 win gold at 2024 Alberta Winter Games

GRANDE PRAIRIE – Lloydminster Western Financial Steelers (Zone 7) and Calgary Royals White (Zone 3) captured the gold medals in the hockey competition as the Alberta Winter Games wrapped up on Monday in Grande Prairie.

Lloydminster won the Female Division crown, while Calgary captured the Male Division title.


The championship in the Female Division featured the top two teams from Pool A – Lloydminster and the St. Albert Raiders Bolts (Zone 5). Lloydminster continued its tournament long dominance with a 7-2 victory to earn the gold medal.

Lloydminster went a perfect 3-0 in the round robin, outscoring its opponents 25-6 before defeating Rocky Mountain Raiders (Zone 2), 11-2, in the semi-finals. St. Albert (1-1-1) defeated Central Alberta Twins (Zone 4), 3-2, in the semi-finals. Central Alberta, who had finished first in the other pool, and Rocky Mountain faced off in the bronze medal match with the Raiders winning 1-0 in a shootout.


The Male Division final had a similar setup with the top two teams in Pool A also facing off for the gold medal. This time, though, it was the second-place team from Calgary (Zone 3) playing a near-perfect final to blank the Lakeland Panthers (Zone 7), 4-0, to capture the gold.

Lakeland (2-0-1) finished first in its pool in round-robin, with the tie coming against Calgary. Calgary (1-0-2) finished second. Lakeland defeated Peace River, 9-1, in the semi-finals, while Calgary punched their ticket to the final, 6-3, over the Okotoks Oilers (Zone 2). Okotoks had finished first in the other pool.

Peace River Sabres (Zone 8) edged Okotoks, 6-5, in overtime, to earn the bronze medal.


The officials crew includes Brooke Akune (Lethbridge), Aryn Chambers (Sylvan Lake), Sara Deneweth (Calgary), Kristen Gallant (Bezanson), Chiara Knowlton (St. Albert), Neve Palmer (Edmonton), and Elizabeth Tanguay (Calgary). Linespeople include Kristina Krywolt (Calgary), Shelby Lazarowich (Edmonton), Alyssa Maier (Calgary), Jessica Pele (Lethbridge), Janine Van der Wekken (Edmonton), Caira Stucklschwaiger (Fairview), and Yelena Zaleschuk (Calgary). 

On the male side of the tournament, officials include Scott Roessler, Fraser Berg, Brett Friesen, Kale Salacki, Darryl Smith, Kanin Boese, Brian Gilles and Taylor West as referees. Dylan Francis, Jaxon Peters, Jordan Wills, Robert Rowney, Rylie Payeur, Nate Millsap and Jesse Roessler were the linespeople.

For all the scores and standings, check out the Alberta Winter Games website.